Stephen Millard

December 22, 2010


ITIL v3 - Foundation

Institution: British Computing Society

Issued: 22 December 2010

Certification: PDF


ITIL is a globally recognized collection of best practices for managing information technology (IT). It is broken into five sections:

  1. Service Strategy - specifies that each stage of the service lifecycle must stay focused upon the business case, with defined business goals, requirements and service management principles.
  2. Service Design - provides guidance for the production and maintenance of IT policies, architectures and documents.
  3. Service Transition - focuses upon change management role and release practices, providing guidance and process activities for transitioning services into the business environment.
  4. Service Operation - focuses upon delivery and control process activities based on a selection of service support and service delivery control points.
  5. Continuous Service Improvement - focuses upon the process elements involved in identifying and introducing service management improvements, as well as issues surrounding service retirement.

Training Training